Posted on

Taking care of business

So, it’s the third week of the university term and things are ticking along nicely. I’m really grateful for the opportunity to teach in Warwick’s Film and Television Department so soon after submitting my PhD. In past years, I’ve taught modules on French and British national cinemas, and on Adaptation. This time round, I’m introducing first years to Film Theory. So far, we’ve tackled Bazin, Epstein and Mary Ann Doane. Next week: Eisenstein!

As well as this teaching, I’ve continued working as a web editor for the Wolfson Research Exchange, which has been taking up a lot of time. Our Research Match scheme has been a fantastic success (which has translated into lots of uploading of profiles by yours truly), and later in the year, I’ll be acting as an online tutor for the Library’s 23 Things for the Digital Professional course.

The best news I’ve had this week has been the offer from Warwick’s German Department to teach a film segment for their Culture and Politics in the Weimar Republic and the Third Reich module. I’m really thrilled to be renewing my acquaintance with this academic department, who were so welcoming and attentive when I was an undergraduate. The films I’m lecturing on are good’uns too – Metropolis, The Blue Angel and M!

While my PhD thesis on Hollywood marriage is out of my hands and in those of the examiners, the Thin Man films continue to be a part of my life. I’m very proud to have had an article on that loveable pooch Asta published in Mystery Reader’s Journal 27: 3. You can subscribe or buy the pdf here.

I also recently addressed the Institute of Advanced Study’s Drinking Studies Network on the subject of social drinking in the Thin Man cycle. Deborah Toner’s account of the symposium is here, in which she describes the content of my paper and the Q&A that followed.

My association with online publisher Silkworms Ink continues, and we on the editorial team are very excited about our new-look website. There will be all sorts of great content posted in the coming months. Sam Kinchin-Smith’s edited collection on Nick Cave will be published soon, in which I have an essay on Cave and hard-boiled literature. I’m really thrilled to be sharing space on the contents page with my dear friend Tom Steward on this one, too.

Last but not least, Roisin and I are counting down the days until the BFI’s 30th anniversary celebration of Cagney & Lacey. We’ve been rewatching episodes recently in preparation for a larger study of female detectives and I’ve been really struck by the achievement and importance of this programme. It’s a crime that there is no complete DVD release yet, but perhaps the interest generated by this event will give MGM a kick up the arse. Regardless, it’ll be an enormous thrill to be in the same room as Sharon Gless, Tyne Daly and executive producer Barney Rosenzweig. In the past few weeks, we’ve been in contact with Barney’s webteam and we hope to interview him sometime after the event. I’ll also be writing an event report for Screen.

Right, I think that’s everything! Expect updates sooner rather than later…

About squeezegutalley

I am a PhD researcher in the Department of Film and Television Studies at the University of Warwick. I am interested in adaptation, seriality, jazz, crime fiction, comics and cult television.

4 responses to “Taking care of business

  1. Lauren Thompson ⋅

    Hi Nic,

    Great to hear about all those exciting projects on the horizon! I’ve been curious about the 23 Things… course but having so many projects on the go already (and so many blogs!) I’ve been hesitant to sign up…would you recommend I give it a go?

    • Hey Lauren,

      Yes, I think the 23 Things course is very useful as an introduction to digital applications for researchers. It will look good on the CV, and, for an experienced and fluid writer like yourself, it wouldn’t be a huge time commitment. There will be follow-up courses, I think, so if you can’t manage it at the moment, there will be opportunities to do it down the line.

  2. Louise

    Wow, it’s all going on and sounds very exciting… And busy. Well done you. X

Leave a Reply

