Posted on

The Batman Adventures: Rendering the Comic Page

I seem to begin every post with an apology for my absence these days! But while I’d thought that finishing my PhD thesis would give me a bit of breathing space, in fact I’m busier now than I’ve ever been.

I’ve written a short piece on Nick Cave for a forthcoming edited collection, have other essays on Doctor Who and The X-Files in the works and I’m currently trying to chop my thesis up into two articles and a book proposal. Also, I’m still trying to get my radio play finished and I’m working four part-time jobs.

But I do feel guilty for not updating my blog more often. I’ll try to get better at shorter, more frequent posts over the next few weeks. To get started, here’s something I’ve written about The Batman Adventures that The Comics Grid published this week. I hope you enjoy it!

About squeezegutalley

I am a PhD researcher in the Department of Film and Television Studies at the University of Warwick. I am interested in adaptation, seriality, jazz, crime fiction, comics and cult television.

3 responses to “The Batman Adventures: Rendering the Comic Page

  1. Hello,
    I’m writing in regards to the 09-26-11 post. I merely wish to say that it was an insightful critique. As to how I came to be depicted in an issue of the Batman Adventures series. I was the winner of a 1993 ‘Fox Kids’ contest. I was flown to New York to visit with the folks who worked on that title. I was a surprise to find that someone had taken interest in that particular issue. Thank you-

    • Hi Anthony! That’s absolutely fascinating – thank you so much for commenting. I’d love to know more about the competition. How were you selected? It must be a real thrill to now that you’ve been immortalised in a Batman comic!

  2. You’re certainly welcome, sorry about the typos. In connection with ‘Batman the animated series’. The ‘Be Batman’s Boss’ contest was advertised on the ‘Fox Network’. During the weekday afternoon hours, when kids generally get out of school. As well as in select DC comics for kids at that time. It was a standard postcard entry contest. Only I sent in more than I ought to have by over 100. In retrospect, it was a bad example to set for others & it should have disqualified me. But I happen to have drawn Batman characters as rendered in that series on each postcard in color. So, that may have been taken into consideration. I’m not sure what the folks at Fox thought about that. But at DC they were impressed. Which may be why I was depicted as a comic penciler in the issue. There were about 5 newspapers that covered the story. They interviewed me & included my picture. Both before I left & while I was there. It’s embarrassing now to read the articles. The perspective of a pre-pubescent teen wannabe is not always the proudest of moments. Disney called me to go talk talk with them. About what I’m not sure, as I wasn’t interested then. The day I was at the DC building I was chaperoned by a man in a Batman costume, in the style of ‘The Batman Adventures’. DC President/Publisher Paul Levitz had me fill out a questionnaire about new proposed (but fictitious) company policies to see what a kid would think. Scott Hanna let me ink part of a panel in an upcoming ‘Robin’ comic. I got to see some of the upcoming ‘Batman: Knightfall’ material. And also spent a lot of that day with Editor Scott Peterson, meeting staff & looking through archives. Unfortunately I couldn’t comprehend the depth of some of their work & writing at the time, being as I was only 11. They took me to Six Flags in New Jersey, Planet Hollywood & to see Tommy on Broadway. When I returned to California, over a dozen boxes of Batman & DC merchandise arrived. Scott Peterson met me at the San DIego Comic Con where we bypassed all the entry lines. They would sent a few holiday cards after that. Kids at school read that I’d recieved X-amount in prizes & misconstrued it, asking me for money. The mid 90′s saw a slump in comics & my peers felt comics to be strictly kids stuff. Remember the films ‘Batman Forever’ & ‘Batman & Robin’… It wasn’t like it has been the last decade & now with kids & teens. It’s nice to have existed for a few seconds within what would become such a memorable part of Batman history. Many regard that incarnation of Batman with high esteem. The art deco style, noir scripts, Mark Hamill’s Joker, Harley Quinn’s introduction. It was an integral part of re-establishing several characters & introducing them to a wider audience. Like in the 1970′s when Denny O’Neil & Neil Adams rescued them from the modus operandi of the 50′s/60′s. And not for the sake of an overly eager ‘reboot’ fad. It resonates past mere nostalgia because they transcended the saturday morning formula. And I got to be part of it for an issue. p.s. Sorry about the novella here.

Leave a Reply

