Posted on

Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows trailer

Well, here it is! I have to admit, this trailer prompted a big goofy smile from me…

About squeezegutalley

I am a PhD researcher in the Department of Film and Television Studies at the University of Warwick. I am interested in adaptation, seriality, jazz, crime fiction, comics and cult television.

2 responses to “Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows trailer

  1. Jaime M.

    You know, I had to sleep on it, but this looks fun. It looks like Ritchie has made a movie that has a consistent energy and spirit with his first one. He knew what kind of movie he wanted to make, and he did it. He knew who *his* Holmes and Watson are, and it looks like they’re back. And the little we see of Moriarty has definitely peaked my interest! I keep hearing people using “steampunk” to describe this movie, which is something I’m always on board with (though I don’t get much of that description from the trailer)!

    That said, I prefer my Sherlock Holmes more cerebral than action hero, which is where Ritchie’s first movie deviated for me. It’s a personal preference.

    I will say that I think that Sherlock Holmes could have made a much more convincing woman–even in disguise–given the opportunity (but I guess he had to “make due”)! Frosted blue eyeshadow…tsk. ;-)

    • Thanks for commenting, Jaime! I think you’re spot on re: the certainty of tone. That’s one of the things I most enjoyed in the first film, the sense that it knew what it wanted to do and it did it!

      I also have reservations about Downey in drag. I think that might be a little too broad for me, though I like the joke about the transparency of Holmes’ disguises!

      Jared Harris looks wonderful as Moriarty. I’m really pleased they cast this crucial role so well.

Leave a Reply

